General Information

General Information

What do all these UltraVPN settings mean on my iOS?

Published · updated

Once you are signed into UltraVPN on iOS. You can easily navigate the settings by tapping on the gear icon, which will show in-depth the VPN settings you can toggle.

IMG_1646.jpg

Here is the list of settings you will have available, and we will go through each one.

IMG_1647.jpg

General

IMG_1648.png

Connect on app launch

When you initially launch your iOS device, UltraVPN will be already activated in the background.

Disconnect on sleep

If this is toggled, the VPN will automatically disconnect when you put your device into sleep mode.

Always-on VPN

This feature cannot turn off, and for your security, it stays on. This setting will help reestablish the VPN connection automatically if the VPN somehow gets disconnected.

Kill Switch

This setting will help make everything more secure with you as it will automatically disable the connection to the internet if the VPN connection drops out of nowhere when you are connected.

Network Management

IMG_1649.png

Secured WiFi:

enable secured Wi-Fi in the event you connect to a more private network, such as your home.

Unsecured WiFi:

Enable unsecured WiFi when you connect to a public network such as Starbucks.

Rules for Wifi Networks

IMG_1650.png

Toggle this setting to route the VPN connection when you join certain Wifi networks. The VPN will recognize the Wifi you put in as a priority network to connect to.

Split-Tunneling (New)

IMG_1651.png

Ultra on iOS has a Bypass feature that can bypass specific websites. Once you manually add a site to this feature, the VPN will automatically connect to that app once it has been opened. To add an app or site, click the check mark next to bypass and click the add option. (Note: This only works with Hydra Protocol enabled.)

You can also Route VPN access which will exclusively connect to the VPN always when the VPN is on. You can add apps to this feature by toggling it on via the check box and clicking add next. (Note: This only works with Hydra Protocol enabled.)

To disconnect the VPN once you have closed that site, you will need to go back into the UltraVPN application and disconnect it manually for both Bypass VPN and Route VPN.

VPN Protocol

IMG_1652.png

This is automatically turned on when you connect to a virtual location. When this protocol is selected, we will pick the fastest and most secure protocol to connect to for your network or area.

Hydra

This is our company-developed protocol. It only can be found with us. This unique protocol is the fastest in the VPN industry and faster than our other protocols. It is the most secure of our protocols, so whenever you have a technical problem, please try changing to Hydra.

IKEv2 (IPSec)

While being less secure than the other protocols, this is one of our very fast protocols under our belt. If not at par with Hydra, this is still a reliable protocol that may help with certain technical issues.